Posts Tagged ‘Nobel Peace Prize’

2016 – Nobel Prize Winners List

2016 – Nobel Prize Winners List


Nobel Prize in Physics:

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 with one half to David J. Thouless University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA and the other half to F. Duncan M. Haldane Princeton University, NJ, USA and J. Michael Kosterlitz Brown University, Providence, RI, USA for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry:

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016 to Jean-Pierre Sauvage University of Strasbourg, France Sir J. Fraser Stoddart Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA and Bernard L. Feringa University of Groningen, the Netherlands for the design and synthesis of molecular machines.

Nobel Peace Prize:

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2016 to Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos for his resolute efforts to bring the country’s more than 50-year-long civil war to an end, a war that has cost the lives of at least 220000 Colombians and displaced close to six million people.

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine:

The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institute has decided to award the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Yoshinori Ohsumi (Japan) for his discoveries of mechanisms for autophagy.

Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences:

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2016 was awarded jointly to Oliver Hart (United Kingdom) and Bengt Holmstrom (Finland) for their contributions to contract theory.

CLICK HERE for Study Materials (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Exams



European Union (EU) wins 2012 Nobel Peace Prize

The 2012 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to the European Union (EU) “for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe”.

The EU has been a key in transforming Europe “from a continent of wars to a continent of peace,” committee chairman Thorbjoern Jagland said in announcing the award in Oslo (Norway). “This is a message to Europe to do everything they can to secure what they’ve achieved and move forward,” Jagland said, saying it was a reminder of what would be lost “if the union is allowed to collapse”.

He praised the 27-nation EU for rebuilding after World War Two and for its role in spreading stability after the 1989 fall of the Berlin Wall.

CLICK HERE for our Free SMS Alerts!



%d bloggers like this: