Lalitha Kumaramangalam – Appointed as Chairperson of National Commission for Women (NCW)

NCW LogoThe National Commission for Women was set up as statutory body in January 1992 under the National Commission for Women Act, 1990 to review the Constitutional and legal safeguards for women; recommend remedial legislative measures, facilitate redressal of grievances and advise the Government on all policy matters affecting women.

The First Commission was constituted on 31st January 1992 with Mrs. Jayanti Patnaik as the Chairperson. On 17 September 2014, Lalitha Kumaramangalam was appointed as chairperson of National Commission for Women (NCW). She was appointed by the Union Minister of Women and Child Development, Menaka Gandhi and she is the eighth chairperson of NCW.


CLICK HERE for Study Materials (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Exams


Teacher’s Day in India and World Teacher’s Day

Sarvepalli-RadhakrishnanTeachers Day in India: Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was an Indian philosopher and statesman who was the first Vice President of India (1952-1962) and the second President of India from 1962 to 1967. Radhakrishnan was awarded several high awards during his life, including the Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award in India, in 1954, and honorary membership of the British Royal Order of Merit in 1963. Radhakrishnan believed that teachers should be the best minds in the country”. Since 1962, his birthday (5th September) is celebrated in India as Teacher’s Day.

World Teacher’s Day, held annually on October 5th since 1994, commemorates teacher’s organizations worldwide. Its aim is to mobilize support for teachers and to ensure that the needs of future generations will continue to be met by teachers. According to UNESCO, World Teacher’s Day represents a significant token of the awareness, understanding and appreciation displayed for the vital contribution that teachers make to education and development.

CLICK HERE for Study Materials (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Exams


Dhyan Chand Award

             Dhyan Chand “The Wizard” (29 August Tuesday 1905 – 3 December 1979) was an Indian field hockey player, who is widely considered as the greatest field hockey player of All Time.

Dhyan ChandDhyan Chand Award is India’s highest award for lifetime achievement in sports and games, given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India. The award is named after the legendary Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand. The award was initiated in 2002. The award carries a cash prize of INR 500,000, a plaque and a scroll of honour.

29 August, Chand’s birthday, is celebrated as National Sports Day in India. The President gives away sport-related awards such as the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award and Dronacharya Award on this day at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, India.

CLICK HERE for Study Materials (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Exams


Happy Independence Day and ISRO Formation Day

ISRO Formation


♥ Always Leave Office On Time ♥

Always Leave Office on Time

 CLICK HERE for Study Materials (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Exams like UPSC-IAS, IBPS-Banking, SSC, RRB, TRB, TNPSC and much more!


Commonwealth Games 2014 – India Happy With Top-5 Finish in Glasgow, Scotland

CWG 2014The 2014 Commonwealth Games (officially the XX Commonwealth Games) were held in Glasgow, Scotland, from 23 July to 3 August 2014. There are 71 participating nations at the 2014 Commonwealth Games with approximately 4,950 competing athletes, making it one of the largest Commonwealth Games staged to date. Although there are 53 members of the Commonwealth of Nations, 71 teams participate in the Commonwealth Games, as a number of dependent territories compete under their own flag. The four Home Nations of the United Kingdom-England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland-also send separate teams.


2014 CWG: Medal Standings (Top 5 Nations)







































The 2018 Commonwealth Games will be held in Gold Coast City, Queensland, Australia.

CLICK HERE for Study Materials (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Exams!


National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPR)

The National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPCR) was set up in March 2007 under the Commission for Protection of Child Rights Act, 2005, an Act of Parliament (December 2005). The Commission’s Mandate is to ensure that all Laws, Policies, Programmes, and Administrative Mechanisms are in consonance with the Child Rights perspective as enshrined in the Constitution of India and also the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. The Child is defined as a person in the 0 to 18 years age group.

CLICK HERE for Study Materials (Books-Guides) on All Competitive Examinations

The National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPCR) emphasizes the principle of universality and inviolability of child rights and recognizes the tone of urgency in all the child related policies of the country. For the Commission, protection of all children in the 0 to 18 years age group is of equal importance. Thus, policies define priority actions for the most vulnerable children. This includes focus on regions that are backward or on communities or children under certain circumstances, and so on.



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38,712 other followers

%d bloggers like this: