Narendra Modi takes oath as the 15th Prime Minister of India (26 May 2014)

Narendra Modi     Narendra Modi was today (26 May 2014) sworn in as India’s 15th Prime Minister in the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan, home of President Pranab Mukherjee, who administered the oath. Present among the almost 4000 guests at the grand ceremony were leaders from eight neighbouring countries, including Pakistan.

Narendra Damodardas Modi (born: 17 September 1950) was the third of six children born to Damodardas Mulchand Modi and his wife, Heeraben. He helped his father sell tea at Vadnagar railway station. As a child and as a teenager, he ran a tea stall with his brother near a bus terminus. Modi is a vegetarian.

Modi is the first prime minister of India born after the country’s independence. Modi won from both seats he contested; defeating Arvind Kejriwal, leader of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), in Varanasi and Madhusudhan Mistry of the Indian National Congress (INC) in Vadodara (by a margin of 5,70,128 votes, the second highest ever).

LIKE US on Facebook – Please CLICK HERE

CLICK HERE for Study Materials (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Examinations



One response to this post.

  1. Posted by mohan on June 18, 2014 at 9:01 am



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: