Winners of Nobel Prize from India

The Nobel prizes are presented annually on December 10. It is awarded for outstanding contributions in Peace, Literature, Physiology or Medicine, Physics, Chemistry (from 1901) and Economics (from 1969). The Peace Prize is awarded in Oslo, Norway, while the other prizes are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden.

Winners of Nobel Prize from India are:

  • Rabindranath Tagore (Citizen of India) – Literature (1913)
  • C.V. Raman (Citizen of India) – Physics (1930)
  • Hargobind Khorana (Foreign citizen of Indian origin) – Medicine (1968)
  • Mother Teresa (Foreign born citizen of India) – Peace (1979)
  • Subrahmanyam Chandrasekar (Indian-born American citizen) – Physics (1983)
  • Amartya Sen (Citizen of India) – Economic Sciences (1998)
  • V.S.Naipaul (Indian descendant UK citizen) – Literature (2001)
  • Venkatraman Ramakrishnan (Indian born American Citizen) – Chemistry (2009)

CLICK HERE for Study Materials (GK, Current Affairs, Books and Guides on All Competitive Examinations)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: