Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (1963) and The Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT)

Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (1963):

Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty, formally Treaty Banning Nuclear Weapons Tests in the Atmosphere, in Outer Space, and Under Water, treaty signed in Moscow on August 5, 1963. With in a year more than hundred nations signed it. Great Britain, America, and the Soviet Union took part in the conference, which met at Geneva. It was agreed that all tests in the earth’s atmosphere, in the outer space, in the ocean, and under ground should be stopped. Thus nuclear tests were prevented in the atmosphere, outer space and under water.

The Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT):

This treaty was adopted by the UN General Assembly on September 10, 1996. But it has not entered into force as of May 2012 as some countries including India have not signed it. These countries must ratify the treaty before it comes into force.


CLICK HERE for Free SMS Alerts on GK, Current Affairs, Job Alerts, News, Interesting Facts etc.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: