Agricultural seasons of India

India has three major cropping seasons.

Kharif: The Kharif cropping season begins just before the monsoon and ends after the autumn (i.e.) from June to October. The important Kharif crops are rice, millet, cotton, jute and sugarcane.

Rabi: The Rabi season starts in the beginning of winter and ends in the beginning of summer (i.e.) from November to May. Wheat, barely, gram and oil seeds are some important Rabi crops.

Zaid: The crops which require high temperature are grown with the help of irrigation. The farmers grow fruits and vegetables in the summer months of April, May and June. (e.g.) Watermelon, cucumber and vegetables are important Zaid crops.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: