General Knowledge Question and Answers for Competitive Examinations – 1

  • Kanha National Park (Madhya Pradesh) was created on 1 June, 1955.
  • 37th G8 summit (2011) held at France.
  • 38th G8 summit (2012) is to be held in United States (US).
  • 39th G8 summit (2013) is to be held in United Kingdom (UK).
  • The 1st meeting of the Indian Science Congress Association was held in 1914 at the premises of the Asiatic Society, Calcutta.
  • Bhubaneswar hosted the 99th edition of Indian Science Congress (ISC) in 2012.
  • Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research was established in 1971.
  • Kamini Reactor (Kalpakkam) – the only operating Reactor in the World using U233 fuel.
  • The first Jan Lokpal Bill was introduced by Shanti Bhushan in 1968.
  • The word Lokpal means an ombudsman (Legal Representative) in India.
  • Since 1995, Transparency International (TI) has published an Annual Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI).
  • Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) was established in 1675.
  • Topography is the study of Earth’s surface shape and features or those of planets, moons, and asteroids.
  • Ophthalmology is the branch of medicine which deals with the anatomy, physiology and diseases of the eye.
  • Hypsography is the study of the distribution of elevations on the surface of the Earth.
  • Cartography is the study and practice of making maps.
  • France Finance Minister Christine Lagarde is new IMF chief. Ms. Lagarde, is the 1st woman to lead the IMF, succeeding Dominique Strauss-Kahn.
  • The National research centre on plant Biotechnology was established at Dehradum in 1985.
  • Currency notes are printed at the Currency Note Press, Nashik, Bank Note Press, Dewas, Bharatiya Note Mudra Nigam (Pvt.) Limited presses at Salboni and Mysore and at the Watermark Paper Manufacturing Mill, Hoshangabad.
  • The NOIDA mint was the first in the country to mint coins of stainless steel.
  • A zero rupee note is a type of fantasy money issued in India as a means of helping to fight systemic political corruption.
  • Zero rupee notes have been issued in five of the 22 scheduled languages of India, including Tamil, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, and Telugu.
  • Each banknote has its amount written in 15 languages.
  • The current series of banknotes, which began in 1996, is called the Mahatma Gandhi series.
  • The first Indian commemorative coin was issued in 1964 to mourn the death of Jawaharlala Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India.
  • In 1957, decimalisation occurred and the rupee was divided into 100 naye paise (Hindi for “new paise“). In 1964, the initial “naye” was dropped.


Click Here for Free SMS Updates on GK, Current Affairs, Exam Alerts, Etc.

Click Here for Study Materials / Guides / Year Books.





One response to this post.

  1. Posted by veeresh patil on January 13, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    send plz daily updated information its very very good for our competitive examinations thank you ……………


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: