CDMA – Code Division Multiple Access

CDMA – Code Division Multiple Access:

CDMA, a cellular technology originally known as IS-95, competes with GSM technology for dominance in the cellular world. Developed originally by Qualcomm and enhanced by Ericsson, CDMA is characterized by high capacity and small cell radius, employing spread-spectrum technology and a special coding scheme.

CDMA was adopted by the Telecommunication Industry Association (TIA) in 1993. There are now different variations, but the original CDMA is now known as cdmaOne. We now have cdma2000 and its variants like IX EV, IX EV-DO and MC 3X.

Over 35 countries have either commercial or trial activity ongoing. There are already 43 Wireless Local Loop (WLL) systems in 22 countries using cdmaOne technology.

Enhancing today’s data capabilities is the IXRTT CDMA standard. This is the next evolutionary step for cdmaOne.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: