The Islands of India – Andhaman and Nicobars, Lakshadweeps

The Islands of India – Andhaman and Nicobars,


Besides the mainland, Indian Territory also extends into the Arabian and the Bay of Bengal in the form of the Lakshadweeps and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands respectively. The Lakshadweeps are small Coral Islands. The Andamans and Nicobars are cluster of Islands stretches almost in a line. There are as many as 200 islands in the Andamans Group extending for 350 kms. There are 19 islands in the Nicobar group.


The Andaman Islands and the Nicobar Islands are separated by the 10° N parallel. Some of the islands are of volcanic origin. ‘Barren Island’ is an active volcano. This is the only active volcano of India.




5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rishika or rishika on August 17, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    I want to make asignment can any one help me to know about islands of india


  2. Posted by vijay on March 18, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    above informations all correct


  3. Posted by Anand on July 15, 2011 at 2:17 am

    your group-2 model test pothu tamil question paper is published in puthiya thalaimurai kalvi magazine. without any change


  4. Posted by KUMAR on July 12, 2011 at 12:18 pm



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: