The climate of India



The climate of India may be broadly described as tropical monsoon type. There are four seasons:

(i)               Winter (January-February)

(ii)             Hot weather summer (March-May)

(iii)           Rainy south-western monsoon (June-September)

(iv)          Post-monsoon, also known as north-east monsoon in the southern Peninsula (October-December)


India’s climate is affected by two seasonal winds – the north-east monsoon and the southwest monsoon. The north-east monsoon commonly known as winter monsoon blows from land to sea whereas south-west monsoon known as summer monsoon blows from sea to land after crossing the Indian Ocean, the Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal. The south-west monsoon brings most of the rainfall during the year in the country.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: