Archive for the ‘General Knowledge’ Category

Miss World 2014 – Rolene Strauss (South Africa)

South African beauty Rolene Strauss was today crowned Miss World 2014 at a glittering ceremony in London as India’s Koyal Rana lost out, finishing in the top 10.

Strauss of South Africa is crowned Miss World 2014 at the ExCel Centre in east London

22-year-old Strauss, a medical student, beat 121 contestants across the globe to the coveted title and was presented with the sash by the outgoing Miss World, Megan Young of the Philippines.

Miss Hungary, Edina Kulcsar, was the runner-up in the contest and Miss United States, Elizabeth Safrit, came in third as an estimated billion viewers watched the finale on television around the globe. Priyanka Chopra was the last Indian winner of the coveted title in 2000.

21-year-old Jaipur-born Rana made it to the top 10 but failed to make it to the top five. Rana, however, bagged the sub-title of Best Designer of the world where she was seen standing gorgeously tall in a Falguni & Shane Peacock gown. She also shared the “Beauty with a Purpose” title with Kenya, Guyana, Brazil and Indonesia.

CLICK HERE for Year Books, Study Materials (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Exams



Manorama Yearbook 2015 (English,Tamil, Hindi, Bengali, Malayalam) 50th Edition – by Mammen Mathew (Malayala Manorama Co. Ltd)

Manorama Yearbook 2015 (English,Tamil, Hindi, Malayalam, Bengali) 50th Edition – by Mammen Mathew (Malayala Manorama Co. Ltd)

Manorama Yearbook 2015Manorama Yearbook is celebrating its 50thyear of publication. The largest-selling General Knowledge Compendium is one of the most comprehensive books used by students, teachers, researchers, media persons, planners, lay-people alike, covers a wide-spectrum of topics from Science, Medicine, Environment, IT, Literature, Entertainment, History, Geography, Polity, Ethics, Social Justice, International Relations, Current Affairs and Sports.

The 1040 page Manorama Yearbook is a treasure trove of information and statistics which is much sought-after by students preparing for various competitive exams ranging from Civil Services, Banks, Railways, UPSC and PSC exams across the country

CLICK HERE for English version

CLICK HERE for Tamil version

CLICK HERE for Malayalam version

CLICK HERE for Hindi version

CLICK HERE for Bengali version


Names of the various versions of the Android Operating System

Names of the various versions of the Android Operating System

  • 1) Alpha (1.0)Android
  • 2) Beta (1.1)
  • 3) Cupcake (1.5)
  • 4) Donut (1.6)
  • 5) Eclair (2.0-2.1)
  • 6) Froyo (2.2-2.2.3)
  • 7) Gingerbread (2.3-2.3.7)
  • 8) Honeycomb (3.0-3.2.6)
  • 9) Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0-4.0.4)
  • 10) Jelly Bean (4.1-4.3.1)
  • 11) KitKat (4.4-4.4.4)
  • 12) Lollipop (5.0)


CLICK HERE for Study Materials (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Examinations


Nobel Prize 2014 – Winners List

Nobel Prize 2014 – Winners List

Dr. Francis Crick's Nobel Prize Medal on Heritage Auctions

  • The Nobel Prize in Physics 2014: Isamu Akasaki (Japan), Hiroshi Amano (Japan) and Shuji Nakamura (Japan) - “for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources”.
  • The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014: Eric Betzig (USA), Stefan W. Hell (Romania) and William E. Moerner (USA) - “for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy”.
  • The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2014: John O’Keefe (USA), May-Britt Moser (Norway) and Edvard I. Moser (Norway) - “for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain”.
  • The Nobel Prize in Literature 2014: Patrick Modiano (France) - “for the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies and uncovered the life-world of the occupation”.
  • The Nobel Peace Prize 2014: Kailash Satyarthi (India) and Malala Yousafzay (Pakistan) - “for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education”.
  • The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2014: Jean Tirole (France) - “for his analysis of market power and regulation”.

Child labour activist Satyarthi became India’s 8th Nobel laureate while the champion for children’s education Malala became her country’s second citizen to be given the most coveted prize. Malala is also the youngest to be awarded the globally prestigious annual prize.

CLICK HERE for Study Materials (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Exams

LIKE US on Facebook – CLICK HERE


STUDY MATERIALS (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Exams – Buy Now (with Discounts)

Half Girl Friend

India’s maiden Mars mission successful, Mangalyaan enters red planet’s orbit

MOM in Martian OrbitIndia created history on Wednesday, (September 24, 2014) becoming the first country to successfully get a spacecraft into the Martian orbit on its maiden attempt.

The Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM), also called Mangalyaan is a “technology demonstrator” project aiming to develop the technologies required for design, planning, management, and operations of an interplanetary mission.

NASA’s The Canberra Deep Space Communication Complex in Australia which is managed by CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science got the first signals which were relayed to the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).

November 5, 2013: ISRO’s PSLV C25 launched India’s Mars Orbiter Mission from Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh.

September 24, 2014: Mars Orbiter Mission reaches the intended orbit around Mars, making India the first country in the world to have successfully launched its mission to the red planet on the very first attempt.

NASA’s Mars Atmosphere and Volatile EvolutioN (MAVEN), which reached the red planet just 48 hours before Mangalyaan entered the planet’s orbit. MAVEN was launched in November 2013 with an objective to greatly enhance understanding of Mars’ climate history by providing a comprehensive picture of the planet’s upper atmosphere, ionosphere, solar energy drivers and atmospheric losses.

LIKE US on Facebook – CLICK HERE


Lalitha Kumaramangalam – Appointed as Chairperson of National Commission for Women (NCW)

NCW LogoThe National Commission for Women was set up as statutory body in January 1992 under the National Commission for Women Act, 1990 to review the Constitutional and legal safeguards for women; recommend remedial legislative measures, facilitate redressal of grievances and advise the Government on all policy matters affecting women.

The First Commission was constituted on 31st January 1992 with Mrs. Jayanti Patnaik as the Chairperson. On 17 September 2014, Lalitha Kumaramangalam was appointed as chairperson of National Commission for Women (NCW). She was appointed by the Union Minister of Women and Child Development, Menaka Gandhi and she is the eighth chairperson of NCW.


CLICK HERE for Study Materials (Books/Guides) on All Competitive Exams



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39,198 other followers

%d bloggers like this: